Spam FAQs

Q: How do I access my quarantined, aka spam, email?

A: Open a web browser and go to https://spam.cps.k12.in.us. Enter your windows username and password.

Q: What do I do with the daily “Quarantine Summary” and the messages it contains?

A: The daily summary is used to notify you that there are messages that have been blocked from your email inbox and classified as spam. If you see a message in the list that clearly isn’t spam just click the “Release” link as shown here:

ClickRelease

The message will then be forwarded on to your Outlook inbox. For all other messages that are blocked you don’t need to do anything else. They will automatically be deleted after 21 days.

Q: Why do I see email from my own email address in the list of quarantined mail?

A: Spammers will spoof the “to” and “from” addresses in an attempt to get you to trust the message and open it. This does not mean that your email account is compromised.

Q: How do spammers get my email address?

A: It is difficult to determine exactly how spammers obtain email addresses because there are numerous ways to do it. One known way the spammers get email address is simply guessing common names.

Q: If a spam email makes it to my inbox, should I click the “unsubscribe” link?

A: No, you should not reply to any spam message, even to unsubscribe. Clicking the “unsubscribe” link only tells the spammer that your email address is valid and will more than likely lead to more spam. Also, spammers will often sell lists of known email addresses to other spammers, leading to even more junk mail in your inbox. The best solution for fighting spam is still to delete the message without opening it.

Q: Why does the Technology Department keep telling me that my inbox is full?

A: We don’t. These messages you receive about your inbox being full are “phishing” attempts. They are designed to trick you into giving up your email password for the purpose of sending out more spam from your address. The current version of this scam includes a link to a Google form that asks you to fill out information. Just delete it. Do not click the link. As a reminder, no one from the Technology Department will ever ask you for your password out of the blue. If you call us with a problem, we may need to ask for your password to troubleshoot the issue, but we will never ask for your password unsolicited. Neither will your banking site, or Hotmail, Gmail, Yahoo, Amazon.com, etc... If you receive a message asking you to give up your password, you can be sure it’s a scam. Just delete it.

Q: Where did the term spam come from?

A: No, not the “lunchmeat” but rather a Monty Python skit.

CLOSE